About

img_2093-1
A Self-Portrait. Pretty accurate, except I’m usually an adidas type of person. I also have hands

My name is Elliot, and I am a 20-something Grandpa. I willingly eat oatmeal. I groan when I get up in the morning. I get sleepy at 9 pm and I don’t like going out. I know how to knit, and I like it. I bake for fun, I say no to making plans a good 75% of the time, and my back aches. I wear old man shoes paired with a button-up most days. I like my food mild and my days structured. I hate asking for directions, and I tell the same stories to the same people at least 5 different times. I wear compression socks when I work out. I enjoy steamed brussels sprouts and have gone nose-blind to their cabbage-egg stink. I enjoy sitting on park benches and watching the young people. I sometimes start political debates at family gatherings.

Besides feeling and acting old, I am also one of the millions of recent graduates trying to figure things out. I went through my entire college career thinking I was going to be a scientist until the beginning of my senior year when I realized that being good at something and liking something are two completely different things. I was extremely unhappy.

So I asked myself: now what? what do I like? what do I love to do? What are my passions?

I came up with a list that included humor, veganism, feminism, queer stuff, writing, books, food, and learning.

What combines all of these things? Virtually nothing! So here I am, creating my own space to devote myself to things I actually enjoy. Enjoy my enjoyment of things I enjoy! Hopefully you’ll laugh with me or at me, as long as you’re laughing.

Advertisements